frazzle be dazzle

I almost promised myself not to blog a rant of any kind ever again. I get flak about those posts more than any other. It shows my ungodliness something awful! It shows how far behind in the process of knowing God I actually am. I’m pretty sure the closer you get to God the less rant-y stuff you have to say. Then again, there is Jeremiah who ranted for God all over the place.

I am frazzled. Stick a fork in me because this pork roast is DONE. I’ve said it before, I know. This time of year is probably the most unkind to my mind and body by a long shot. I see the weather changing. I feel it in my bones. No, honest, I really feel it in my bones. It’s not just a saying. It’s for real! Scary thing is, it’s not even snowing yet. The world around me is getting ready for it, though.

A distraction from the pain, for me, is seeing the post-harvest prairies which have turned a fiery yellow. The whole landscape is filled with the trees which have come alive with a blazing glory. The harvested fields turn a type of gold. I think God attempts to burn our retinas just a little with the color so we are relieved to see white after a time. There is nothing like the delicate beauty of the first snow. I am preparing my positivity now. My thankful meter. It works!

I was walking today, out in the beautiful autumn sunshine, reminding myself to soak it in. All of the sudden it hit me. I want the Joy of the Lord to shine and warm me from the inside out. I am ready to stop complaining about my pain and start being warmed from the deepest part of me so that the light of Christ warms those around me. The external temperature is just that…outside of me. I can’t control it but I can let the glow of Christ’s love change my outlook.

Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.

Job 33:28

 He redeemed my soul from going down to the pit, and I will live to enjoy the light. 

Matthew 5:13-15
“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men. 14 “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven..’

Leave a Reply

