Tortoise or Hare

The Tortoise and the Hare (film)

The Tortoise and the Hare (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Knowing that I’m really quite short and my leg to body ratio is irritatingly not in favor of my legs, which would you guess that I am if it came to winning a race?

My guess would have been the Tortoise every time even if everyone else had some sort of broken limb. Except that I wouldn’t win the race. This tortoise is pretty sure she wouldn’t win any races either and that’s just fine!

Turns out I’m both. I went for a walk tonight and discovered that I walk as fast as I jog. I walk or jog at around 5:30-6:20 min/km. It either means that I walk at a pretty decent pace or my jogging is pathetically slow. I choose to think that either is just fine because I am MOVING.

Something I didn’t think about when I registered for doing a 5 Km in the mountains is what the elevation will do to my ability to breathe. Ah well. At least I know I can walk 5 Km in about 30 mins. To me, this isn’t about how fast I go or if I even jog the thing, even though that is what I would like to do, it’s about setting a goal for myself and seeing it through. Ok, that’s the secondary goal. My primary goal is to get healthier. A few other goals are to go into the winter running, literally. I just can’t even imagine having a winter as bad as last.

Call me a Hairy Tortoise, I’m ok with that. Then again, don’t.

If you would like to give to the cause that I’m running for here is the link again. Thanks to the giver of the first pledge!  We have broken ground, now let’s get ‘er going!!

Leave a Reply

