Facebook Fast

February was my “Facebook Fast” month. Except for one important message I could not leave another way, and the fact that my blog posts were automatically posted to my page and I had to see what was happening, I stayed off of it for a month. As one friend put it “Good thing it was a short month”.

My main motive for letting it go for a month was that it was clear to me that I spent too much time on it. I love keeping in contact with my friends and family that way, but it had taken over and it was unhealthy. I wanted to do other things with my life, like write an actual book and not just one status at a time.

It was easy for me, when I wasn’t feeling well, to sit and read posts and the attached articles on many statuses. I could while away hours over a day.

As a part of the transformation I am hoping that God is doing in my life, I need to really limit my time on the computer for distracting activity. I need to focus more on making good use of my time.

I looked this verse up tonight and it struck a chord with me. I think it sums up my thoughts nicely

.Ephesians 5:16-17 ESV

Making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

 

One response to “Facebook Fast

  1. amen sister…trying to figure that bit out myself!

Leave a Reply

