Physical transformation

English: The gymnasticon, a late-18th-century ...

English: The gymnasticon, a late-18th-century exercise machine invented by Francis Lowndes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ok, I’m going to do it. Wait, there is that pile of laundry to do…Ok, now I’m going to do it. But, I need socks. Where are those socks? Crumb. They are at the bottom of the basket, unsorted. **phone rings** I forget what I was going to do….hmm….Let’s go to the library, little Chickie.

Alrighty!

And so goes my days. The “it” I was going to do is get on the elliptical in my basement. Not so hard in theory, but hating exercise like I do, there are a gazillion reasons not to get on it for the 20 min’s I’m trying to do 3-5 times a week.

My weight is at an all-time high. I know how I got here. It’s not like my sudden (it seems that way) weight increase is surprising. I have spent most of my days in my bed, at some point, this last winter. Hardly any exercise, at 40-something yrs old, will do that to a person’s mass.

My energy is increasing but still not where I’d like it. In fact, I found that after exercising, the next day I am not only sore in the normal muscles, I am sore in my joints AND my energy takes a dive. It’s not fair, I tell ya!  I want to motivate myself right into a great shape but when your body slaps you upside with more pain than usual, well, it’s hard. Yes, I’m being a bit whiny. Sorry.

How do I work past the pain that greets me upon putting my feet on the ground in the morning when I haven’t even stepped on them yet? How do I get through the swollen joints that make bending anything really painful? To hop on my machine (which is a really smooth ride but still an exercise machine) is not on my top priority list.

I really want to be passed this. Taking the time to recover from whatever it was that sent me spinning down a dark and lonely hole of intense pain and fatigue makes me want to scream. I like instant gratification. I was made for this generation.I like to have things happen right away. This recovery is not happening fast enough.

So, I plod along and get my butt off

this chair and get it moving.

One step at a time.

Marcy

If at any point you would like to share this blog with anyone, feel free to press the buttons below. If you would like to get blog updates via email then just go to my sidebar and sign up to receive them that way.

Leave a Reply

